Wales Book of the Year 2021: Open for submissions

Published Mon 2 Nov 2020 - By Literature Wales
Deadline for submissions: Monday 7 December 2020* 
*Books published between 1 – 31 December 2020 to be submitted by Friday 15 January 2021 

The Wales Book of the Year Award is an annual prize celebrating outstanding literary talent from Wales across many genres and in both English and Welsh.

There are twelve awards in total with a collective prize fund of £14,000. In both Welsh and English there are four category winners, one People’s Choice winner and one overall winner. 

The Short List, which will comprise of three books in each category – PoetryFictionCreative Non-fiction and Children & Young People, will be announced in the spring, with the winners of Wales Book of the Year 2021 announced during the summer of 2021. 

Wales Book of the Year has been run by Literature Wales since 2004, during which time some of Wales’ most renowned writers have been celebrated alongside brilliant new talents. Click here for information on past winners and shortlisted writers.

Niall Griffiths was the Overall Winner of Wales Book of the Year 2020 with his novel, Broken Ghost. The overall Welsh-language winner was Ifan Morgan Jones with his novel Babel.

All the information regarding the Wales Book of the Year Award 2021, including the Eligibility Criteria, Terms & Conditions and Entry Form can be found here.