Wales Book of the Year 2024 – Host Announcement

Published Fri 7 Jun 2024 - By Literature Wales
Wales Book of the Year 2024 – Host Announcement
Literature Wales is pleased to announce that Tudur Owen will present the Wales Book of the Year 2024 award ceremony.

After casting your vote in the election, join us to celebrate and award Wales’ best writers in a glittering ceremony at Galeri Caernarfon, on Thursday 4 July. The comedian, broadcaster, and author Tudur Owen will guide us though the evening as we learn who has triumphed in four categories in both Welsh and English, the overall prizes, and the winners of the People’s Choice and Barn y Bobl awards.

This year’s shortlist was published in partnership with BBC Radio Cymru Wales on Sunday 12 May, you can browse through all the titles here.

Although the judging process has come to an end, you still have the opportunity to vote for your favourite book among the shortlist in the People’s Choice Awards. Head over to and Golwg360 before 14 June to cast your vote.

Tickets to the ceremony are available to order from the Galeri website. Join our drinks reception ahead of the ceremony from 6.00 pm, sponsored by Penderyn, Cwrw Llŷn and Brecon Carreg. The ceremony will start at 7.00 pm and last until around 8.30 pm, leaving plenty of time to continue the celebration after the ceremony and return home, or join a party locally to watch the election results roll in.

Our colleagues from Palas Print bookshop will be present to sell all 24 of the shortlisted books on the night of the ceremony. You may even have the opportunity to ask the authors for their signature.

Keep an eye on the Book of the Year project page and on our social media channels to hear the latest news about the Wales Book of the Year award.

Thank you to all our award sponsors including principal sponsors Cardiff University’s School of English, Communication and Philosophy and Bute Energy who sponsor the Children & Young People categories in both languages The English-language fiction category is supported by The Rhys Davies Trust. Find out more bout all our partners and sponsors here: Partners and Sponsors 2024