Literature Wales announces the Welsh-language Shortlist for Wales Book of the Year 2021

Published Mon 28 Jun 2021 - By Literature Wales

Literature Wales has today announced the Shortlist for the Welsh-language Wales Book of the Year Awards 2021. The 12 books nominated for this year’s Awards were revealed this evening (Monday 28 June) on BBC Radio Cymru’s Stiwdio programme. The English-language Shortlist will be revealed this Friday evening, 2 July, on BBC Radio Wales’ Arts Show from 6.30 pm onwards.

Wales Book of the Year celebrates outstanding literary talent from Wales across various genres in both English and Welsh. There are four categories in each language – Poetry, Fiction, Creative Non-fiction and Children & Young People.


Welsh-language Shortlist 2021

Gwobr Farddoniaeth – Poetry Award

Dal i Fod, Elin ap Hywel (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)

rhwng dwy lein drên, Llŷr Gwyn Lewis (Self-published)

Mynd, Marged Tudur (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)


Gwobr Ffuglen – Fiction Award

Wal, Mari Emlyn (Y Lolfa)

Tu ôl i’r awyr, Megan Angharad Hunter (Y Lolfa)

Twll Bach yn y Niwl, Llio Elain Maddocks (Y Lolfa)


Gwobr Ffeithiol Greadigol – Creative Non-Fiction Award

Ymbapuroli, Angharad Price (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)

Darllen y Dychymyg: Creu Ystyron Newydd i Blant a Phlentyndod yn Llenyddiaeth y Bedwaredd Ganrif ar Bymtheg, Siwan M. Rosser (University of Wales Press)

O.M.: Cofiant Syr Owen Morgan Edwards, Hazel Walford Davies (Gwasg Gomer)


Gwobr Plant a Phobl Ifanc – Children & Young People Award

Ble Mae Boc? Ar goll yn y chwedlau, Huw Aaron (Y Lolfa)

#Helynt, Rebecca Roberts (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)

Y Castell Siwgr, Angharad Tomos (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)


The judges of this year’s Welsh-language books are poet and writer Guto Dafydd; writer, presenter and former Bardd Plant Cymru, Anni Llŷn; writer, academic and lecturer, Tomos Owen; and comedian and writer, Esyllt Sears. 

On the English-language panel are poet, writer, and dancer Tishani Doshi; teacher, reviewer and influencer Scott Evans; Paralympian, Crossbench Peer in the House of Lords, motivational speaker, and broadcaster, Tanni Grey-Thompson; and academic, writer, activist and former winner of Wales Book of the Year (2003), Charlotte Williams.

What happens next?

The Welsh-language winners will be announced on the Stiwdio programme on BBC Radio Cymru in a series of broadcasts between Monday 2 – Wednesday 4 August. The English-language winners will be announced on the BBC Radio Wales Arts Show on Friday 30 July from 6.00 pm, where representatives from the judging panel, Literature Wales, and literary pundits will join presenter Nicola Heywood Thomas for this highlight in the Welsh literary calendar.

Wales Book of the Year is run by Literature Wales and has been awarded to some of Wales’ most renowned writers as well as exceptional emerging voices.

Lleucu Siencyn, Chief Executive of Literature Wales said: “This shortlist is a celebration of the outstanding literary talents we have in Wales, during what has been incredibly challenging times for writers, readers, and the wider publishing sector.

On behalf of Literature Wales, I wish to congratulate all the shortlisted writers and thank them for providing us with such delight and inspiration during a year where the power of literature has never been more important. I encourage everyone to visit your local bookshop or library and immerse yourselves in the worlds of these exceptional titles.”

A total prize fund of £14,000 will be distributed to the winning writers. Each category winner will receive a prize of £1,000 and the main award winners will receive a further £3,000. Each winner will also receive an iconic Wales Book of the Year trophy designed by the installation artist and blacksmith Angharad Pearce Jones.

Readers will have the opportunity to have their say as the shortlisted titles compete to be win the People’s Choice Awards hosted independently by our partners Wales Arts Review and Golwg360.

For further information about the Wales Book of the Year Award visit: