Announcing the names of the poets of the Pencerdd cohort 2024 – 2025

Published Thu 29 Feb 2024 - By Literature Wales
Announcing the names of the poets of the Pencerdd cohort 2024 – 2025
From left to right; Tegwen Bruce-Deans, Non Lewis, Llinos, Ana Chiabrando Rees, Buddug Watcyn Roberts.
Five poets have been selected to take part in our inaugural Pencerdd programme, a Welsh-language opportunity for poets to develop the ancient craft of cynganeddu.

Run in partnership between Literature Wales and Barddas, Pencerdd is a year-long pilot programme, providing an opportunity for five poets who are relatively new to the cynganeddu tradition to hone their craft. The poets will attend a residential course at Tŷ Newydd Writing Centre with tutors Rhys Iorwerth and Manon Awst in March 2024, before being paired with a mentor for a year of one-to-one sessions. The group will also receive digital workshops, a year’s subscription to Barddas magazine, be a part of a supportive network, and receive information about local eisteddfod competitions and other relevant opportunities.

The aim of the programme is to develop poets that are new to the tradition and nurture new voices and perspectives within the cynganeddu tradition in Wales.

Leusa Llewelyn, Artistic Director of Literature Wales, said: “It’s great to collaborate with Barddas to offer a helping hand as five poets embark on this long, entertaining and winding journey to learn about canu caeth. Our poetic tradition is an important part of our history and culture as a nation, and it is the privilege of Literature Wales to encourage diverse new voices to continue this tradition.”

The Pencerdd 2024 – 2025 cohort was selected by Jo Heyde and Aneirin Karadog on behalf of Barddas, and Branwen Llewellyn from Literature Wales.

Pencerdd cohort 2024 – 2025:

Ana Chiabrando Rees: Ana comes from a Welsh-speaking family from Gaiman, Patagonia. She runs the Welsh Tea House her great grandmother opened 80 years ago in her home and learned Welsh as an adult in courses at Trelew. Ana has won four chairs at local eisteddfodau in Patagonia.

Buddug Watcyn Roberts: Buddug is studying for a PhD in Creative Writing at Bangor University. Buddug has worked on several creative projects, has published her work in magazines and came third for the Urdd chair in 2023.

Llinos: Llinos (they/them) plays with words when creating découpé poetry, as well as writing experimental creative-factual pieces. They are interested in the relationship between ecological diversity and minority languages.

Non Lewis: Non lives in Bridgend and is a mother and Welsh language teacher at Ysgol Gyfun Gŵyr, Swansea. She began learning canu caeth during the lockdown period and has won two chairs at local eisteddfodau.

Tegwen Bruce-Deans: Tegwen is from Llandrindod, Powys, she lives in Bangor and works as a content producer for BBC Radio Cymru. She published her first volume of poetry Gwawrio, with Cyhoeddiadau Barddas in 2023, and won the Chair at the Urdd Eisteddfod 2023 with a series of poems entitled ‘Rhwng dau le’.