The Wales Book of the Year Award is an annual prize celebrating outstanding literary talent from Wales across many genres and in both English and Welsh.

There are three categories in each language – Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-fiction, with one of the three category winners announced as the overall Award Winner at a glittering award ceremony each summer.

Wales Book of the Year has been run by Literature Wales since 2004, during which time some of Wales’ most renowned writers have been celebrated alongside brilliant new talents. Click here for information on past winners and shortlisted writers.

Books are entered by publishers (including self-published writers). Please find the eligibility criteria and the closing date for submission here.

2019 Winners

Ailbhe Darcy is the Overall Winner of Wales Book of the Year 2019. Click here to discover all of this years winners.


Presenter announced for the Wales Book of the Year Awards Ceremony 2019

This year’s Wales Book of the Year Award Ceremony will be hosted by broadcaster Seren Jones, and held at Theatr y Werin, Aberystwyth Arts Centre on Thursday 20 June. Tickets can be purchased here

Click here to read more. 

Wales Book of the Year 2019 Short List

After many months reading through Wales’ literary offerings from 2018, two independent judging panels have chosen their Short Lists for both the English and Welsh-language Wales Book of the Year Awards 2019. This year’s Short Lists include some of Wales’ leading writers. Collectively they have won a range of literary prizes including: the Somerset Maugham Award, Sunday Times Business Book of the Year, the Orange Prize, Terry Hetherington Young Writers Award, the Costa Poetry Award, the Branford Boase Award, National Eisteddfod Chairs, Crowns and Medals for poetry, prose and drama, and last but not least, the Wales Book of the Year Award.

Click here to read more.

Back to Our Projects