Please read and familiarise yourself with the eligibility criteria for Wales Book of the Year.

The title…


  1. Be the sole work of one writer (illustrations and introductions excluded)
  2. Be published for the first time (in either Welsh or English) in the calendar year preceding the award (1 January – 31 December 2020).
  3. The author must have been alive on 2 December 2019 – the deadline for submissions.
  4. Be comprised substantially of work which has not been previously published in individually authored collections.
  5. Be a work of poetry, fiction, or creative non-fiction (see note on page 3), OR intended for children & young people with a readership up to the age of 16.
  6. Work presented to the Poetry, Fiction, or Creative non-Fiction categories must be intended for an adult readership.
  7. Must be in print from the date the Short List is released until the winners are announced at the award ceremony.
  8. Be submitted to one category only. Work published bilingually can only be submitted for consideration in one language.


  1. Be written in the Welsh language.
  2. Be written in English by a Welsh-born writer, or someone who was schooled in Wales.
  3. Be written in English by a writer who is currently resident in Wales
  4. Be of clear relevance to Wales and Welsh culture (see definition on page 4).



  1. Work published within anthologies of multiple writers.
  2. Translations and adaptations (unless they are deemed to be of major significance to Welsh literature far beyond existing versions of the source material).
  3. Scripts, screenplays, and picture books.



a. Poetry

A collection of new work by a single author, and intended for adult readership.

b. Fiction

Eligible books submitted to this category must be new work by a single author which is intended for adult readership and can include all fiction genre.

c. Children & Young People

Submissions to the Children & Young People’s category must primarily consist of literary rather than pictorial content, and intended for readership up to 16 years of age. Fiction, Poetry and literary non-fiction are all eligible and must meet the criteria detailed in a, b & c above, except for readership age.

d. Creative non-fiction

Creative non-fiction is defined as prose writing which is either primarily creative in nature or discursively engages with other’s fiction, non-fiction or poetry. This includes works where the creativity of prose is central to the nature of the work. Types of books which COULD fall under such criterion include travel writing, graphic novels, autobiography/biography and social history. Works of literary criticism are eligible for consideration if they are, or can be convincingly argued to be, relevant to Wales or Welsh culture (see definition below).

Definition of works which are of clear relevance to Wales and Welsh culture

Titles which discuss and/or add to themes which have a tradition of discourse in Welsh literary fields can, on occasions, be determined eligible for consideration despite the writer having no linguistic, residential or adolescent links with Wales.

Decisions on all eligibility issues will be at the discretion of Literature Wales. Their decision will be final. If you are in any doubt about the eligibility of a book for Wales Book of the Year, please contact Literature Wales: 029 2047 2266 |


Back to Wales Book of the Year