Wales Book of the Year 2019: Open for submissions

Published Fri 26 Oct 2018 - By Literature Wales

Deadline for submissions:
Saturday 1 December 2018*

* Books published between 1 – 31 December 2018 to be submitted by 16 January 2019


Wales Book of the Year is an annual literary award celebrating the best Welsh works published within a calendar year in the fields of creative writing and literary criticism in both Welsh and English. Managed by Literature Wales, awards are presented in three categories: Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.


There are ten awards in total with a collective prize fund of £12,000. In both Welsh and English there are three category winners, one People’s Choice winner and one overall winner.


The Short List, which will comprise of three books in each category, will be announced in May, with the winners of Wales Book of the Year 2019 announced at a ceremony held at Aberystwyth Arts Centre on 20 June 2019.




Please read and familiarise yourself with the eligibility criteria for Wales Book of the Year.

The title…


  1. Be the sole work of one writer (illustrations and introductions excluded)
  2. Be published for the first time (in either Welsh or English) in the calendar year preceding the award (1 January – 31 December 2018)
  3. The author must have been alive on 1 December 2018 – the deadline for submissions
  4. Be comprised substantially of work which has not been previously published in individually authored collections
  5. Be a work of poetry, fiction or creative non-fiction (see note on page 3)
  6. Must be in print from the date the Short List is released until the winners are announced at the award ceremony.
  7. Be intended for an adult readership



  1. Be written in the Welsh language
  2. Be written in English by a Welsh-born writer, or someone who was schooled in Wales
  3. Be written in English by a writer who is currently resident in Wales
  4. Be of clear relevance to Wales and Welsh culture (see definition below)



  1. Work published within anthologies of multiple writers
  2. Translations (unless they are deemed to be of major significance to Welsh literature far beyond existing versions of the source material)
  3. Scripts


Note on literary non-fiction

Creative non-fiction is defined as prose writing which is either primarily creative in nature or discursively engages with other’s fiction, non-fiction or poetry. This includes all literary criticism, as well as other works where the creativity of prose is central to the nature of the work. Types of books which COULD fall under such criterion include travel writing, autobiography/biography and social history. Works of literary criticism are eligible for consideration if they are, or can be convincingly argued to be, relevant to Wales or Welsh culture.


Definition of works which are of clear relevance to Wales and Welsh culture

Titles which discuss and/or add to themes which have a tradition of discourse in Welsh literary fields can, on occasions, be determined eligible for consideration despite the writer having no linguistic, residential or adolescent links with Wales.


Titles with illustrations or images are judged on the quality of the writing alone and any award is made to the author alone. Literature Wales is the national company for the development of literature in Wales and as such is funded primarily to promote literary creativeness in the English and Welsh-language.


If you are in any doubt about the eligibility of a book for Wales Book of the Year, please contact Literature Wales: 029 2047 2266 |