With readings from the shortlisted writers

The annual Swansea University International Dylan Thomas Prize is one of the most prestigious awards for young writers. It encourages raw creative talent worldwide and celebrates international literary excellence.

Launched in 2006, the £30,000 Prize is awarded to the best published literary work in the English language, written by an author aged 39 or under. The 2018 winner was Kayo Chingonyi for his debut poetry collection, Kumukanda.

Join us for readings from shortlisted authors and an audience Q&A, just a day before this year’s prize is awarded.

This year’s shortlist includes breakout authors American-Ghanaian Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, British-Sri-Lankan Guy Gunaratne and Zimbabwe-born Novuyo Rosa Tshuma, all being selected for their powerful and challenging works tackling race, immigration and post-colonial history. Joining them on the shortlist are Louisa Hall with her kaleidoscopic novel on Robert Oppenheimer, father of the atomic bomb, Zoe Gilbert and her stunning folkloric tale of the fictional village of Neverness, and Sarah Perry with her latest bestseller Melmoth.

The participating authors will be announced nearer the time.

In partnership with Swansea University