The winners of the Wales Book of the Year will be announced at an Award Ceremony held in Tramshed, Cardiff on the evening of Monday 13 November, where a total prize fund of £12,000 is up for grabs. Each category winner will receive a prize of £1,000, and the main award winners in each language will receive an additional £3,000. Each winner will also receive a specially commissioned trophy created by the artist Angharad Pearce Jones.

The Welsh language judging panel for Wales Book of the Year 2017 are: critic and reviewer, Catrin Beard; author and poet, Mari George; and Eirian James, owner of the award-winning independent bookshop, Palas Print in Caernarfon.


Welsh-language Poetry Award

Bylchau, Aneirin Karadog (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)

Chwilio am Dân, Elis Dafydd (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)

Llinynnau, Aled Lewis Evans (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)


Welsh-language Fiction Award

Y Gwreiddyn, Caryl Lewis (Y Lolfa)

Ymbelydredd, Guto Dafydd (Y Lolfa)

Iddew, Dyfed Edwards (Gwasg y Bwthyn)


Welsh-language Creative Non-Fiction Award

Gwenallt, Alan Llwyd (Y Lolfa)

Optimist Absoliwt, Menna Elfyn (Gwasg Gomer)

Cofio Dic, Idris Reynolds (Gwasg Gomer)


On the English-language judging panel this year are: award-winning author Tyler Keevil; Senior Lecturer Dimitra Fimi and the Costa Poetry Prize winner Jonathan Edwards.


The Roland Mathias Poetry Award

What Possessed Me, John Freeman (Worple)

The Other City, Rhiannon Hooson (Seren)

Psalmody, Maria Apichella (Eyewear)


The Rhys Davies Trust Fiction Award

Pigeon, Alys Conran (Parthian)

Cove, Cynan Jones (Granta)

Ritual, 1969, Jo Mazelis (Seren)


The Creative Non-Fiction Award

The Tradition, Peter Lord (Parthian)

Jumpin’ Jack Flash, Keiron Pim (Vintage)

The Black Prince of Florence, Catherine Fletcher (The Bodley Head)


Tickets for the Award Ceremony are £6 and can be purchased online from