Literature Wales can offer support to both new and established writers through its Writers’ Bursaries scheme.
 Literature Wales Writers’ Bursaries are awarded annually, and can be awarded to writers at all stages of their careers. Published writers and new and emerging writers are eligible to apply for a Writer’s Bursary.

The refocused 2018 Writers’ Bursaries Awards, which are funded by The National Lottery through the Arts Council of Wales, enable writers to concentrate on developing a specific work in progress across a twelve month period. The amounts are fixed sum awards at £3,000.

Applicants may apply for a Writers’ Bursary; or a Support Fund Bursary, if eligible. Support Fund Bursaries are available for writers with mobility problems or disabilities in need of specialist equipment and assistance. Applicants for the Support Fund Bursary may apply for up to £2,000 for assistance to develop their work in progress.

Eligible Genres:
Writers’ Bursaries and Support Fund Bursaries are awarded to support writers creating new work in the following genres: Prose, including novels and short stories; graphic novels, poetry, children’s literature, young adult fiction, and creative non-fiction. Creative non-fiction includes literary criticism and biography/autobiography.

Applicants must be resident in Wales.

Closing date:

The deadline for submitting applications for 2018 Writers’ Bursaries has now passed. (5.00 pm Wednesday 16 August 2017). Late applications will not be accepted.

What happens next?

The timetable for assessing the 2018 Writers’ Bursaries is as follows:
• All applications will be acknowledged by email and letter.

• All applications will be processed by the end of August. We will contact applicants by letter or email if your application is incomplete.

Assessment timetable:
The Bursaries Panel will assess the Bursary applications during the three month period following the closing date (September 2017 to November 2017). The Bursaries Panel will meet at the end of the assessment period (in November 2017). Within six weeks of the Bursary Panel’s decision meeting, every applicant will be individually informed of the Bursary Panel’s decision by letter. It is anticipated that applicants will be informed by mid December 2017. The names of successful bursary recipients will be announced within seven weeks of the Panel’s decision meeting (in January 2018).

The dates in this timetable may be subject to change.

Details for future applications for Writers’ Bursaries will be announced after funding has been confirmed. We anticipate that this will be during 2018. Further details will be announced on the Literature Wales website and in the Literature Wales e-newsletter in due course.

For further information on the members of the Bursaries Panel click here.

If you have any queries regarding Literature Wales Writers’ Bursaries, please contact Literature Wales:
029 2047 2266 /

Literature Wales Writers’ Bursaries and the Mentoring Scheme are supported by The National Lottery through the Arts Council of Wales.


Back to Services for Writers