Cardiff International Poetry Competition

2011 Cardiff International
Poetry Competition
The Winners

Judges: Don Paterson and Philip Gross
Filter Judge - Tiffany Atkinson

Click on the links below to read the winners biogs and poems.  


First Prize, £5,000: Malcolm Watson from Hull for his poem
The Naked Quaker and the Burning Boy

Second Prize, £500: Mario Petrucci from Middlesex for his poem

Third Prize, £250: Richard Halperin from Paris for his poem
The Animals All Knew, Without Saying

Five equal runners-up, winning £50 each:

- Mary O'Donnell from County Kildare, Ireland for her poem
Goth Persephone's Mother asks her to do the messages

- Nina Boyd
from Huddersfield for her poem Home comforts

- Karen McCarthy
Woolf from London for her poem The Wish

- Rishi Dastidar
from London for his poem
22 March, Working in an Office on Berners Street

- Lesley Saunders
from Slough for her poem Glass

Click here to read the winners press release
and for details of the announcement.

Click here to read the judges adjudication.


The Judges

Don Paterson - Photo credit Murdo McLeodDON PATERSON was born in Dundee, Scotland. He has published numerous collections of poetry including Nil Nil (Faber and Faber, 1993), God’s Gift to Women (Faber and Faber, 1997), Landing Light (Faber and Faber, 2003; Graywolf, 2004), and Rain (Faber and Faber, 2009; Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2010).

His poetry has won a number of awards, including the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, the Whitbread Poetry Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Award, and the T S Eliot Prize on two occasions. Most recently, Rain won the 2009 Forward Prize. Don is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and a Fellow of the English Association; he received the OBE in 2008 and the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2010. He now teaches poetry at the University of St Andrews and since 1996 has been poetry editor at Picador.

lives in Penarth, south Wales, and is Professor of Creative Writing at Glamorgan University. He is a poet and writer of thoughtprovoking fiction for young people, science fiction, haiku, schools opera libretti, plays and radio short stories.

His poetry, up to and including the Whitbread Prize shortlisted The Wasting Game, is collected in Changes of Address (2001). Bloodaxe has since published three more collections, the latest of which, The Water Table (2009) won the TS Eliot Prize. I Spy Pinhole Eye (Cinnamon, 2009), with photographs by Simon Denison, was the English-language winner of Wales Book of the Year 2010. Philip’s children’s poetry includes The All-Nite Café (Faber and Faber, 1993) which won the Signal Award, and Off Road to Everywhere (Salt, 2010), a PBS Children’s Poetry Bookshelf choice. 

Filter Judge:

Tiffany Atkinson - Photo by John BriggsTIFFANY ATKINSON is a critic, theorist, and lecturer in English at Aberystwyth University. She won the BBC Radio Young Poet of the Year Competition in 1993 and 1994, and the Ottakar’s and Faber Poetry Competition in 2000. Her poetry has been published in Poetry Life, Sampler and The Telegraph.

Tiffany’s latest title Kink and Particle (Seren, 2006) won the Jerwood Aldeburgh First Collection Award 2007. It is also a Poetry Book Society Recommendation, and was shortlisted for the Glen Dimplex New Writer’s Award. In 2001 Tiffany won the Cardiff International Poetry Competition with her poem 'Photo from Belfast'.